NEW YORK: The Pulitzer Prizes, established in 1917

NEW YORK: The Pulitzer Prizes, established in 1917 with a bequest from trail-blazing publisher Joseph Pulitzer, are marking their 100th year on Monday with the announcement of the winners of what are regarded as the most prestigious awards in American journalism.The Pulitzers recognize excellence in categories that range from breaking news reporting to public service articles to feature photography.In addition to the journalism awards, there are prizes in fiction, history, drama, music and other literary forms.All told, there are 21 prizes in play every year. Winners are selected by an independent board after judges make nominations from a total of 2,400 entries across the range of categories.The board has the option of naming no winner in any category.The announcement takes place at 3 p.m. ET (1900 GMT) on Monday at New York´s Columbia University

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/insideru/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 405

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *